You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Bulldogs TV headed out to the Bankstown Bulls Junior Rugby League Club during the week to catch up with the Under 8 kids and their coach.

Bankstown Collegians and Bankstown City merged at the end of the 1997 to form the Bankstown Cougars for the 1998 season.

Bankstown Collegians was formed in 1981 fielding teams in B Grade (open age), D Grade (u17) and E Grade (u16).

Collegians won their first competition in 1982 defeating Punchbowl 25-0 in the F Grade (u15) Grand Final under the coaching of Wayne Dewberry and captaincy of Mark Vella. All up they won 10 competitions across various age groups from under 8's to A/Grade.

In 1986, Bankstown Collegians won the International Club Championship for the first and only time.

Bankstown City won won 5 competitions from 1984 to 1997 in ages 8, 9, 11, 16 and C/Grade. Their first title was won in 1984 in M/Grade under the coaching of Peter Byrnes and captaincy of Maniel Byrnes.

Bankstown Collegians and Bankstown City formed a joint venture at the end of the 1997 to become the Bankstown Cougars.

In 1998, the Cougars took out the under 19's title with Craig McLeod as coach and Mark Connell as captain. Such was the success of the Collegians and City merger that inaugural club secretary Ray Farrah took out the CBDJRL Club Secretary of the Year for the 1998 season.

In 2002, Bankstown Cougars were joint winners of the International Club Championship.

In 2004, a name change occured with the Bankstown Cougars becoming the Bankstown Bulls.

In 2007, the Bulls were awarded the first ever CBDJRL Club of the Year award.

All up the Cougars and Bulls have won 26 competitions including four A/Grade, three under 13’s, three under 12's, two C/Grade and two under 18's titles.

In recent times the Bulls have been a dominant club when it comes to players being selected in Bulldogs Junior Representative and Development squads. The Bulldogs have used both Ruse Park and Padstow Park as training bases for Junior Represenative and Development squads and have hosted a number of Junior Representative and Development trials at Ruse Park.

Junior League Grand Final days have been held at Ruse Park in 2009, 2010 and 2011.
The club is now firmly established at Ruse Park (Bankstown Football Centre) and in recent years upgrades to the ground have seen extensions to seating areas and a large shelter area between the canteen and entrance to the playing field.

The growth of the Bulls saw the club acquire Padstow Park in 2010 with the ground used as a training base for International sides and has hosted Sunday competition matches.

In 2011, the Bulls won their first Sydney Combined Competition (SCC) when the under 17’s side coached by Danny Safetly defeated the St George Dragons 24-14 at Hammondville Oval.

In 2013, the Bulls celebrated their 10th season as the Bulls after being the Cougars for the previous six seasons. The Bulls won a club record equalling three premierships and enjoyed their finest seasons on and off the field for a long-time. The Bulls canteen, sponsorship, function events and registrations flourished in 2013 allowing for the Executive to invest more back into the club and its members.

The Bulls have bestowed Life Membership upon six people - Najib Nohra, Lindsay Roach, Lloyd Williams, Anthony Samuel, Romiz Barakat and Skarf Maroun - all six have played a positive role in the establishment and progression of the Cougars and Bulls history.

The Bankstown Bulls acknowledges its origins as the Cougars and before that Bankstown Collegians and Bankstown City.

New players, volunteers and supporters are always welcomed to be part of the Bulls are they look to build a new history and era in Rugby League and giving people an opportunity to be involved in the greatest game of all.

To get involved in the Junior League, click here.