You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
October 2: Benji steals show; 'Bobcat' a grand final top dog

On this day, a future Manly star was born, Andrew 'Bobcat' Ryan achieved a rare feat, while Benji Marshall etched his name into grand final folklore. 


English champions Wigan thump Winfield Cup premiers Penrith 21-4 in the World Club Challenge match at Liverpool’s Anfield Stadium.


Australia open the Kangaroo tour with a 52-8 mauling of Cumbria at Workington.


Future Sea Eagles star Tom Trbojevic is born in Sydney. 'Tommy Turbo' debuted with Manly in 2015 and has also represented NSW and Australia. Also born on this day were Tepai Moeroa (1995), Te Maire Martin (1995), Jim Serdaris (1971) and Steve Edge (1951).


Former South Sydney winger Nick Zisti makes his international rugby debut for Italy in a World Cup match against England at Twickenham.


The NRL slams leading betting agency Centrebet over their plans to frame a market on referee Bill Harrigan’s penalty count in the grand final. ‘It’s irresponsible and shows absolutely no regard for the integrity of our game,’ says NRL chief operating officer Graham Annesley.

Get Caught Up: Finals Week 3


The Australian Rugby League inducts Dally Messenger, Dave Brown, Arthur Beetson, Wally Prigg, Mal Meninga and Keith Holman into the game’s Hall of Fame.


Second-rower Andrew Ryan is officially named as captain of the Bulldogs’ grand final team following the withdrawal of Steve Price. He becomes the first player to make his debut as captain in a premiership-decider since Ray Stehr at Easts in 1935.


Benji Marshall and Pat Richards combine for one of the great grand final tries as Wests Tigers triumph 30-16 over North Queensland in the NRL grand final. Tigers halfback Scott Prince wins the Clive Churchill Medal.

Every try from Finals Week 3


Australian selectors name St Helens centre Jamie Lyon in their 23-man squad for the Tri-Nations tournament. He becomes only the second player in almost 100 years to be chosen while playing for an overseas club. Seven newcomers are named in the Australian squad, including Melbourne’s Greg Inglis and Cameron Smith, Roosters forward Anthony Tupou, Brisbane’s Sam Thaiday, St George Illawarra utility Ben Hornby and Parramatta winger Jarryd Hayne.


Judiciary panel members Darrell Williams, Royce Ayliffe and Darren Britt commence legal action against the Melbourne Storm over comments by coach Craig Bellamy and chief executive Brian Waldron questioning their integrity.


Manly overcome serious off-field distractions to hand the Warriors a 24-10 defeat in the grand final at ANZ Stadium. The decider attracts the ninth highest crowd in premiership history – 81,988. Manly lock Glenn Stewart is named Clive Churchill Medallist while brother Brett hits the headlines after a terse exchange with NRL boss David Gallop on the victory dais.

Former Manly backrower Glenn Stewart.
Former Manly backrower Glenn Stewart. ©NRL Photos


The NRL overturn an earlier ruling that would prevent suspended Rabbitohs hooker Issac Luke from joining in celebrations on the field should Souths win the grand final. Officials pointed to rules that banned suspended players from entering the playing arena at any time and joining in post-match presentations. “We have shown leniency and a degree of pragmatism,” said NRL head of football Todd Greenberg.


Cronulla players and supporters celebrate a grand final victory 50 years in the making after the Sharks hold off Melbourne to win the decider 14-12 at ANZ Stadium. Prop Andrew Fifita scores the match-winning try for the Sharks while second-rower Luke Lewis is named Clive Churchill Medal winner.


Sydney Roosters fullback James Tedesco caps a remarkable 48 hours when he is awarded the Jack Gibson Medal as the club’s player of the Year. It follows his first grand final victory for the Roosters and his selection as Australia’s Test fullback for Tests against New Zealand and Tonga.


This article contains information from the official records of NRL historian David Middleton.