You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
NRL team list: Round 24 v Bulldogs

The North Queensland Toyota Cowboys will retire the No.8 jersey for Thursday night’s farewell to 1300SMILES Stadium in honour of retiring legend Matt Scott.

The Bulldogs clash was also originally slated to be Scott’s home farewell, but the Cowboys legend will be unable to suit up for the game as he recovers from a mild stroke in a Brisbane hospital.

Scott has made the Cowboys No.8 famous over the course of his illustrious 268-game career and the NRL granted the club permission to retire the jersey on Thursday night in honour of one of its favourite sons.

Scott Bolton will start in the front row and wear No.16, which was the jersey he wore in the Cowboys’ historic 2015 grand final victory.

It was announced today Bolton will leave the club at the end of the season after an outstanding career spanning 13 seasons.

Bolton’s 244 appearances are the fourth most in club history and the 32-year-old is one of just nine Cowboys life members.

John Asiata remains in the halves, with Jake Clifford named on the reserves as he continues to battle an ankle injury.

Jason Taumalolo has been named at lock after coming into the side as a late inclusion for the victory over Penrith.

Centre Tom Opacic has also been named after failing a HIA last weekend.

Hooker Reuben Cotter and forwards Coen Hess, Francis Molo and Peter Hola make up the interchange.

Clifford is joined on the reserves by forwards Tom Gilbert and Corey Jensen as well as centre Enari Tuala.

Tickets to the final game at the Cowboys inaugural home ground are still available.

Gates open at 5.50pm, with the formal ceremonies beginning at 6.50pm before a 7.50pm kick-off at 1300SMILES Stadium.

Cowboys team to play Bulldogs:

1.         Scott Drinkwater

2.         Kyle Feldt

3.         Jordan Kahu

4.         Tom Opacic

5.         Murray Taulagi

6.         John Asiata

7.         Michael Morgan (C)

16.       Scott Bolton

9.         Jake Granville

10.       Jordan McLean (VC)

11.       Gavin Cooper

12.       Shane Wright

13.       Jason Taumalolo


14.       Reuben Cotter

15.       Coen Hess

17.       Francis Molo

18.       Peter Hola


19.       Tom Gilbert

20.       Corey Jensen

21.       Enari Tuala

23.       Jake Clifford