You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs have named forward Josh Jackson as their Player of the Year for 2017.

The NSW Origin representative, was his usual model of consistency, winning seven Players' Player Awards. He led from the front on the field, averaging 12 runs, 105 metres gained and 32 tackles per game.

The Rookie of the Year Award went to outstanding newcomer Marcelo Montoya. The local junior who grew up playing for the Bankstown Bulls, made his NRL debut in Round Three against the Warriors and ended the season as the team's leading try scorer with twelve.

Moses Mbye was the recipient of the club's Community Service Award, for his outstanding work in the Community, in particular as Ambassador for the Bulldogs ‘Be All In’ program that encourages social cohesion across the community.

In recognition of her outstanding work in local Junior Rugby League, plus her role in setting up the Bulldogs' Tarsha Gale Cup side for Under 18 Girls, Lana Brisenden was the recipient of the Karen Folkes Award.


Hazem El Masri Bulldogs 2017 NYC Player of the Year Award - James Clark

A tough lock forward who is in his first year with the Bulldogs NYC side. A graduate of the club’s SG Ball team, he played in 20 matches this year averaging 28 tackles per game.

Terry Lamb Bulldogs 2017 NSW Cup Player of the Year Award - Rhyse Martin

A hard working back rower who scored 8 tries this season and averaged 121 metres per game. Was selected for the ISP Team of the Year and his combination with Josh Cleeland has been a major part of the teams success.

Steve Mortimer Bulldogs 2017 Rookie of the Year Award - Marcelo Montoya

A local junior from the Bankstown Bulls, this recipient finished the season with 12 tries after making his NRL debut in Round 3 against the Warriors. Also represented Fiji in the Pacific Test against Tonga.

Les Johns Bulldogs 2017 Clubman of the Year Award - Tony Grimaldi

A stand out around the club for his overall hard work and dedication. A former player who appeared in the 2004 Grand Final winning side and epitomises the Bulldogs spirit.

Peter Warren Medal Bulldogs 2017 Community Service Award - Moses M’bye

Recognised his outstanding work in the Community in particular his Ambassador role in the Bulldogs ‘Be All In’ program that looks to encourage social cohesion across the community as well as his role as ambassador for the Africulture event and the State of the Mind campaign.

Coaches Award - Aiden Tolman

A warrior in terms of his consistency throughout the season. A leader on and off the field and a player that leads by example in whatever he does, he won 3 Players Player Awards this year and averaged 38 tackles per game, in addition to 14 hit ups. Played his 200th NRL game in Round 5 against the Broncos, but most importantly scored his first try for the season in the final round against St George.

Dr George Peponis 2017 Bulldogs Player of the Year Award - Josh Jackson 

Our Player of the Year award goes to a recipient who is seen by many as the ultimate professional who leads through his actions and has the respect of all his team mates. It is an award that celebrates consistency over a full season and with over 100 metres running and 32 tackles per match there can be little doubt of that with this player. A winner of 7 Players Player Awards for the Bulldogs in addition to 3 State of Origin appearances.

Karen Folkes Award - Lana Brisenden

Originally from the Auburn Warriors, this recipient was recruited by the Bulldogs in 2012 to join the Junior League system and since then has been a major contributor to the local junior league system through giving up countless weekends to make sure that junior football is running smoothly at all levels. Also a major driving force behind the setting up of the Bulldogs Tarsha Gale Cup side this season that had tremendous success reaching the final of the competition.

Acknowledgement of Country

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs respect and honour the Darug and Eora nations, who are the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.