You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
1995 Grand Final v Manly: Bulldogs claim seventh premiership

The Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs claimed their seventh premiership after downing the Manly Sea Eagles 17-4 in the 1995 decider.

Having finished in sixth place at the end of the regular season, the Bulldogs managed a history-making finals surge, winning three sudden death matches to make the Grand Final.

Canterbury knocked off tall poppies St George, Brisbane and Canberra in quick succession to earn a shot at minor premiers Manly.

The Sea Eagles went into the game as hot favourites, having finished the regular season with a 22-3 win/loss record.

In team news – Jason Williams came into the side on the wing to replace the injured Brett Dallas, while Terry Lamb led the side out for what was supposed to be his final game in the blue and white.

Canterbury were ahead at half-time 6-4 and withstood the pressure from Manly through their magnificent defence, even when Lamb was sent to the sin bin for a professional foul, the Dogs stood firm.

Showing enterprise and confidence, the Bulldogs ran in a further two tries through Rod Silva and Glen Hughes to register a remarkable premiership victory.

Canterbury shutdown Manly’s key men and held the Sea Eagles tryless for the first time in the season.

Jim Dymock claimed the Clive Churchill medal and at game's end, Lamb enjoyed the rare honour of celebrating as a retiring victorious skipper and was carried to the dressing-room on the shoulders of his teammates, although he surprisingly returned for the 1996 season.


1. Rod Silva - Sponsored by Miramax

2. Jason Williams - Sponsored by Canterbury League Club

3. John Timu - Sponsored by Daily Press

4. Matthew Ryan - Sponsored by Sydney Freezers

5. Daryl Halligan - Sponsored by Remondis

6. Terry Lamb (C) - Sponsored by Reliable Food Distributors

7. Craig Polla-Mounter - Sponsored by Greenacre Dental

8. Darren Britt - Sponsored by Hy-Tec

9. Jason Hetherington - Sponsored by Workforce

10. Dean Pay - Sponsored by TLH Group

11. Steve Price - Sponsored by Guardian Venue Management

12. Simon Gillies - Sponsored by Dental on Evaline

13. Jim Dymock - Sponsored by Your Property People

14. Jason Smith - Sponsored by M&J Chickens

15. Glen Hughes - Sponsored by Ultimate Security

16. Mitch Newton - Sponsored by CPE

17. Steve Reardon, Scott Davey, Barry Berrigan, Ben Gillies, Peter Wheeler, Robert Tocco, Gavin Whitaker * - Sponsored by Hitachi Cooling & Heating

* Please note the listed players in jersey 17 were all eligible to play, but only players jersey 14, 15 and 16 took to the field meaning three replacements were only used during the game.

Classic Match: 1995 Grand Final

Acknowledgement of Country

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs respect and honour the Darug and Eora nations, who are the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.