You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Foran named to start for Kiwis

Kieran Foran will make his first international appearance in more than two years when the New Zealand Kiwis meet the Great Britain Lions in the first Test at Eden Park on Saturday (5.00pm kick-off).

Canterbury-Bankstown play maker Foran (29) returns to the Test stage for the first time since May, 2017, partnering captain Benji Marshall in the halves. Replacing Shaun Johnson, he will be making his 22nd appearance for the Kiwis since his debut 10 years ago.

In other changes to the side which lost 4-26 to Australia, Kiwi head coach Michael Maguire has moved Sydney Roosters middle forward Zane Tetevano into the starting front row after he made his debut from the bench last Friday night. Vodafone Warriors prop Leeson Ah Mau is switched to the bench.

Canberra back rower Joseph Tapine, who served a one-game suspension last week, is recalled to start at loose forward in his 11th Test with Blair now on the bench and Braden Hamlin-Uele, one of four debutants against Australia, moving out of the squad. Melbourne utility Jahrome Hughes and Canterbury-Bankstown back rower Corey Harawira-Naera complete the interchange.

This Saturday’s match will be the Kiwis’ first against the Great Britain Lions since a three-Test series in England in 2007.

It will be the second leg of an international triple header at Eden Park. It kicks off with a second-tier Oceania Cup match between Toa Samoa and Fiji Bati (2.20pm kick-off) with the Kiwis v Great Britain encounter followed by the Kangaroos taking on Tonga International (7.40pm kick-off). The Tongans come into the match after stunning the Lions 14-6 in Hamilton last Saturday.

New Zealand Kiwis v Great Britain Lions

5.00pm, Saturday, November 2, 2019

Eden Park, Auckland

New Zealand
1. Roger Tuivasa-Sheck

2. Ken Maumalo

3. Charnze Nicoll-klokstad

4. Joseph Manu

5. Jamayne Isaako

6. Kieran Foran

7. Benji Marshall (c)

8. Zane Tetevano

9. Brandon Smith

10. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves

11. Briton Nikora

12. Kenny Bromwich

13. Joseph Tapine

14. Jahrome Hughes

15. Corey Harawira-Naera

16. Leeson Ah Mau

17. Adam Blair

18. Kevin Proctor

19. Bailey Simonsson