You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Sonny Bill Williams and Steve Price after the Dogs' 2004 success.

On this day, the Kangaroos play their first ever match in 1908, the Bulldogs savour grand final glory and the Rabbitohs land the prized signature of Damien Cook.


The Kangaroos play their first match, beating Welsh side Mid-Rhondda 20-6 at Tonypandy. A crowd reportedly between 7000 and 8000 are enthralled by the war cry of the tourists.


Phil Gould parts company with Canterbury, leaving the way clear for Bulldogs’ favourite son Chris Anderson to take over as first grade coach.


Australia’s most capped Test player Mal Meninga calls for Andrew Johns to be crowned Test captain once Brad Fittler retires from representative football.

Andrew Johns played 26 Tests for Australia.
Andrew Johns played 26 Tests for Australia. ©NRL Photos


The Northern Eagles are officially wound up at a board meeting.


Bulldogs winger Hazem El Masri is honoured for his contribution to community issues when he is presented the Ken Stephen Medal at the NRL’s grand final breakfast.


The Bulldogs claim their first premiership in nine years with a 16-13 win over the Sydney Roosters in a gripping grand final at Telstra Stadium. Second-rower Willie Mason wins the Clive Churchill Medal. Roosters captain Brad Fittler bows out of rugby league after 16 extraordinary seasons.


Wests Tigers captain Scott Prince caps a remarkable weekend when he is named in Australia’s Tri-Nations squad. Prince joins Matt King and Luke O’Donnell as newcomers to the 23-man squad. Darren Lockyer retains the captaincy ahead of Andrew Johns.


St George Illawarra achieve their breakthrough grand final victory, defeating the Sydney Roosters 32-8 at ANZ Stadium. It is the first premiership win for the St George district in 31 years and the first in Illawarra’s history. Dragons fullback Darius Boyd is named Clive Churchill Medal winner.

The True Believers

Sign up for a free NRL Account to access this video and other exclusive content.

Sign Up

Already have an NRL Account? Log In

Not sure? Learn more about an NRL Account.


Dally M rookie of the year Daly Cherry-Evans continues his remarkable rise to prominence in 2011 when he is named in Australia’s squad for the Four Nations series. Cherry-Evans joins five other newcomers including Keith Galloway, Corey Parker, David Taylor, Akuila Uate and Tony Williams in the 24-man squad.


South Sydney sign deputy Canterbury hooker Damien Cook to a two-year deal.


Mal Meninga names seven newcomers in Australia’s squad for the World Cup including Tom Trbojevic, Reagan Campbell-Gillard, Wade Graham, Dane Gagai, Jordan McLean, Cameron Munster and Felise Kaufusi. Seven members of the Storm’s grand final-winning team are named in the squad. Sam Thaiday, James Tedesco, Blake Ferguson, Josh Papalii and Dylan Napa are rated the most notable omissions.


This article contains information from the official records of NRL historian David Middleton.

Acknowledgement of Country

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs respect and honour the Darug and Eora nations, who are the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.