You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
September 27: Immortal Joey and Bennett the greatest

On this day in rugby league history, a classic grand final try, Wayne Bennett named the game's best ever coach and Andrew Johns becomes an Immortal.


Canterbury winger Steve Gearin scores one of the most spectacular tries in the history of grand finals in his team's 18-4 defeat of the Roosters. George Peponis leads the Bulldogs to their first premiership win since 1942. (Watch the full grand final replay – see Gearin's try from 1:24:50.)

Kenny 'puts the cream on the cake' for Parramatta


Parramatta break through for their first premiership victory with a 20-11 grand final victory over a gallant Newtown. Coach Jack Gibson provides classic postscript when he proclaims to the masses: “Ding dong the witch is dead”. Fans celebrate by torching the old Cumberland Oval grandstand.

Sterling orchestrates try for Atkins


Manly prevail 18-8 over Canberra in the final last grand final played at the Sydney Cricket Ground. Watch the full grand final replay


Brisbane captain Allan Langer claimed the Clive Churchill Medal after his team comprehensively beat St George 28-8 in the grand final. Scenes of hysteria greet the Broncos on their return to Brisbane. Watch the game

Broncos halfback Allan Langer in 1992.
Broncos halfback Allan Langer in 1992. ©NRL Photos


Bronco second-rower Gorden Tallis is named the Clive Churchill Medal winner as the Broncos beat Canterbury 38-12 in the grand final. The NRL's new premiership trophy is damaged amid the Broncos' celebrations. Watch the game


The entire Parramatta team is awarded the Ken Stephen Medal, usually reserved for individuals, for their outstanding community service during the season.

The 2001 Parramatta Eels.
The 2001 Parramatta Eels. ©NRL Photos


Former Parramatta and Wests Tigers winger Pat Richards wins England's prestigious Man of Steel award for his efforts with Super League club Wigan.


Wayne Bennett is named the number one coach in the game's history at the Men of League's annual ball in Sydney. Bennett is voted into the top spot ahead of Jack Gibson, Bob Fulton, Phil Gould and Harry Bath.


Newcastle's Halfback of the Century Andrew Johns is inducted into rugby league's most exclusive club when he is named Australia's eighth Immortal. "To be honoured in this way is just overwhelming," Johns said. "I'm lost for words." Johns won the vote from an 18-man judging panel assembled by Rugby League Week magazine, beating leading contenders Mal Meninga, Norm Provan and Ron Coote for the honour.

This article contains information from the official records of NRL historian David Middleton.