You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Klemmer named in Kangaroos squad

The Australian Rugby League Commission has today selected the following players to represent the Kangaroos in Test matches against New Zealand and Tonga.

Three members of the Premiership-winning Sydney Roosters outfit have been selected in the Kangaroos squad, which will play the Kiwis on October 13 and Tonga on October 20 at Mt Smart Stadium.

The 19-man squad also includes four debutants; Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Latrell Mitchell (Sydney Roosters), Tyrone Peachey (Penrith Panthers) and James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters).

South Sydney's Greg Inglis has been appointed Captain following the Representative retirement of Cameron Smith.

"This is a new era for the Kangaroos and it is a very exciting one, based on the talent available," Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga said.

"There is certainly a strong showing from the NSW squad which won the State of Origin series and we have a number of players who performed exceptionally well through the Finals Series as well as in the Grand Final.

"While there are only two Test matches for the Kangaroos this year they are extremely important to me and this squad.

"This will give us a good gauge of who we will be looking at to lead the Kangaroos into the future.

"The Kangaroos have not played the Kiwis in New Zealand for four years, and have not played in Auckland for six years, so the October 13 Test match will be an extremely important one for us.

"The first Test match ever against Tonga will also be a historic occasion not only for the Kangaroos but for the game as well."

The squad, listed alphabetically, is as follows:

Reagan Campbell-Gillard 
Daly Cherry-Evans 
Damien Cook 
Boyd Cordner 
Tyson Frizell 
Valentine Holmes 
Ben Hunt 
Greg Inglis (c) 
Felise Kaufusi 
David Klemmer 
Josh McGuire 
Jordan McLean 
Latrell Mitchell 
Cameron Munster 
Tyrone Peachey 
James Tedesco 
Jake Trbojevic 
Tom Trbojevic 
Aaron Woods 

Fact pack on the 2018 Kangaroos squad:

• The 19-man squad includes 13 members of Australia's victorious World Cup squad from 2017 and eight who appeared in the final. Those who appeared in the final were Valentine Holmes, Aaron Woods, David Klemmer, Boyd Cordner, Josh McGuire, Jordan McLean, Reagan Campbell-Gillard and Tyson Frizell

• There are four newcomers to the Australian squad – Damien Cook, Latrell Mitchell, Tyrone Peachey and James Tedesco

• The average age of the squad is 26 and 77 days. This has fallen by more than one year per player since last year's World Cup, following the retirements of Cameron Smith, Billy Slater and Cooper Cronk

• The oldest player is Greg Inglis (31 years and 259 days) while the youngest is Latrell Mitchell (21 years and 106 days)

• Inglis is expected to play his 40th Test match for Australia in the October 13 Test against New Zealand

• There are 11 New South Wales State of Origin representatives in the squad and seven who have represented Queensland. North Queensland prop Jordan McLean is eligible for New South Wales but is yet to make his Origin debut

• Premiers the Sydney Roosters and Manly have the highest representation with three players each