You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Bulldogs Coach Des Hasler will this week become the 10th Coach in history to reach 350 NRL games.

Des will join an illustrious group of men who have made a huge contribution to the game. At the top of the list is current Brisbane Broncos coach Wayne Bennett with 773 games and a win rate of 62.1%.

Hasler’s coaching career began back in 2004 when he was appointed to the top job at the Manly Sea Eagles taking over from Peter Sharp.

Having played 256 games for the club, Hasler went on to lead the Sea Eagles to seven consecutive finals series campaigns from 2005-2011, including two premierships in 2008 and 2011. However, a week after leading Manly to the 2011 premiership, Des signed to join the Bulldogs in the 2013 season. That was fast tracked and the two time premiership winning Coach arrived at Belmore on November 14, 2011.

During his time as coach of Manly, Hasler was awarded the RLIF Coach of the year on two occasions, both times after leading his side to premiership success.

His arrival at the Bulldogs was met with immediate success as he took the club from ninth position in 2011, to minor premiers at the end of the home and away season.

The Bulldogs marched to the Grand Final and were beaten by the Melbourne Storm 14-4, but his immediate impact resulted in Hasler being awarded the 2012 Dally M Coach of the Year.

His first season at Belmore, Des shaved his famous flowing locks to raise $100,000 for children's cancer charity Camp Quality.

He has taken the Bulldogs to two grand finals (2012 and 2014), and the finals in each of his five years at the club and for 12 straight years (2005-2016), Hasler has led a side into September, with only Wayne Bennett’s 20 consecutive finals appearances between 1992 and 2011 topping him.

With an impressive coaching record, the 56-year-old signed a two-year extension with the club in April until the end of the 2019 season and this week’s clash with the Panthers will see Des coach a team for the 350th time.

IT'S a battle for the title of Best in the West when rivals the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs and Penrith Panthers unleash at ANZ Stadium.

Most Premiership Games by Coach 1908-2017 - Source: David Middleton

Wayne Bennett 773 62.1%
Tim Sheens 669 50.8%
Brian Smith 601 50.8%
Warren Ryan 415 56.1%
Bob Fulton 405 64.4%
Ron Willey 403 57.3%
Jack Gibson 394 62.2%
Craig Bellamy 379 67.3%
John Lang 371 55.5%
Des Hasler 349 58.7%
Acknowledgement of Country

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs respect and honour the Darug and Eora nations, who are the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.