You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Front row forward David Klemmer has tonight taken out the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs top award, being named the 2016 Dr George Peponis NRL ‘Player of the Year’ at the club’s annual Presentation Night held at Dockside Pavilion, Darling Harbour.

Klemmer had a stellar season as part of the forward pack, playing 22 games where he carted the ball forward 366 times, making 3413m and in defence he made 540 tackles at an average of 25.7 per game.

On top of his club achievements, the 22-year-old played in all three State of Origin matches and will next week come off the bench for the Prime Minister’s XIII in the match against Papua New Guinea.

Lloyd Perrett was crowned the winner of the Terry Lamb NSW Cup ‘Player of the Year’ after performing consistently throughout season 2016.

D’Rhys Miller took home the Hazem El Masri Holden Cup ‘Player of the Year’, after causing plenty of damage on the left edge all season as part of the side.

After bursting on to the scene with one of the moments of the year back in Round 2 against the Panthers, Kerrod Holland took home the Steve Mortimer Medal for ‘Rookie of the Year’. The Newcastle product made 14 appearances in the top grade, scoring three tries and kicking at 75%.

Club favourite Josh Reynolds was awarded the prestigious Les Johns Medal as ‘Clubman of the Year’ for his outstanding contribution both on and off the field throughout season 2016.

Halfback Moses Mbye took home the Peter Warren Medal for his efforts and contribution in the community. Mbye became an ambassador for the new ‘Be All In’ program and also the NRL’s ‘State of Mind’ initiative.

Josh Jackson capped off a great week taking out the 2016 Coaches’ Award for the third year in a row.


The Winners – Bulldogs 2016 Presentation Night:


Dr George Peponis Medal; Bulldogs 2016 NRL Player of the Year: David Klemmer

Terry Lamb Medal; Bulldogs 2016 NSW Cup Player of the Year: Lloyd Perrett

Hazem El Masri; Bulldogs 2016 Holden Cup Player of the Year: D’Rhys Miller

Steve Mortimer Medal; Bulldogs 2016 Rookie of the Year: Kerrod Holland

Les Johns Medal; Bulldogs 2016 Clubman of the Year: Josh Reynolds

Peter Warren Medal; Bulldogs 2016 Community Award: Moses Mbye

Coaches’ Award: Josh Jackson


Acknowledgement of Country

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs respect and honour the Darug and Eora nations, who are the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.