Archer discusses Contentious Refereeing Decisions

Referee’s boss Tony Archer discusses the contentious referee decisions from Round 23 of the Telstra Premiership.

There were a number of talking points to come out of the Bulldogs win over the Sea Eagles and two of the big moments involved Sam Kasiano and Josh Reynolds.

The team proudly wore this Multicultural Jersey bearing the flags of all the different countries that represent the heritage of everyone at the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs during round 23 game against Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles. The jerseys will be signed by the individual players and are available for auction HERE

With only 10 seconds on the clock in normal time Jamie Buhrer lost the ball in a smothering tackle from Sam Kasiano that saw the Bulldogs giant penalised for interference in the tackle 40 metres out and while the Bulldogs weren’t happy about the call, Archer says the on field officials made the right decision in awarding the penalty.

“The tackle was complete and then Sam racks the ball out. That’s a penalty to Manly and correctly given,” Archer said.

Josh Reynolds scored the winner late in golden point, but Bulldogs fans would argue the try was a bit of footballing karma after Reynolds was denied a try earlier in golden point for jostling Manly half Daly Cherry-Evans out of the way in the lead-up to his possible four-pointer and Archer also agreed the on-field referee’s made the right decision in penalising Reynolds.

“You can see that at this point Cherry-Evans knocks the ball backwards and when he turns to retreat the ball, he is pushed by Josh Reynolds and that takes away any opportunity he has to recover that knock back.

“For us officials, you can’t interfere with a player without possession. That’s a penalty and was correctly awarded.”

Early in the game, the Sea-Eagles were denied a try when the Trbojevic brothers combined but the bunker found Jake hadn't grounded the ball cleanly.

“There was a live decision of try, but upon review you could see that the ball comes off his left hand and hits the ground before it’s re-grounded.

“For us that’s a knock-on and subsequently it was over turned and it was the right decision.”

Don't miss our Round 25 Clash with the Cowboys at Belmore Sports Ground