You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Blues Coach Laurie Daley has settled on his final 17 for Game One of the 2016 Holden State of Origin Series at Sydney's ANZ Stadium, minus Bulldogs centre Josh Morris.

With 13 games next to his name, Morris was released from camp alongside Dragons back-rower Tyson Frizell.

The omission of Morris from the side has created plenty of debate and according to former Maroons centre Justin Hodges who spoke with, he believes the selectors got this one wrong.

“I think over the last few years he has aimed up on GI (Greg Inglis), which probably no other centre has,” Hodges said.

“I think the blues are going to have a massive loss without him.”

Meanwhile the man tipped to replace Morris in the centres is Dragons fullback Josh Dugan.

Dugan entered the camp in some doubt after picking up an elbow injury in the Dragons loss to the Rabbitohs, but has since been cleared to play.

The 2015 Blues fullback said the decision Coach Laurie Daley and the selectors had to make would of been a tough one, but applauded Morris for his team first attitude.

“It would have been a tough decision for Loz to make,” Dugan said.

“He’s been a main stayer for years in the Blues camp and he is going to be missed.

“He is our brother. He is part of our family.

“He’s always been that sort of guy that tries to help out in any way he can and if that’s his role for game one, than he’s accepted that.

“He’s one of those blokes that doesn’t hold anything against anyone and he just tries to do the best thing for the team.”

Dugan will have the toughest job in Origin one, trying to stop the rampaging Greg Inglis, a job Morris has done extremely well for a number of years.

“It’s definitely a challenge I’m really looking forward to.”

New South Wales VB Blues squad for Holden State of Origin Game One:

Greg Bird (Gold Coast Titans)
Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters)
Josh Dugan (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers)
Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters)
Andrew Fifita (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
Paul Gallen (c, Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
Josh Jackson (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
Michael Jennings (Parramatta Eels)
David Klemmer (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
James Maloney (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
Josh Mansour (Penrith Panthers)
Matt Moylan (Penrith Panthers)
Adam Reynolds (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
James Tamou (North Queensland Cowboys)
Dylan Walker (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)
Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)

Acknowledgement of Country

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs respect and honour the Darug and Eora nations, who are the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.